From GENEVA, this is from the 1940’s and it is still just as delicious today. The quintessential “ladies’ luncheon salad,” I have never seen a gentleman turn up his nose at it either! I can’t make it for you today, but I will very soon, and when I do I will add a photo to this post.

Drain a #2.5 can of cling peach halves, reserving 1/2 cup of the juice. Cut all but two of the halves into small pieces. Cut the two halves into slices. (If fresh peaches, use about four medium size) Soften one envelope of plain gelatin in 3 T cold water. Add to warmed peach juice. Cool. [Set aside]

Soften one 8-oz package Philly cream cheese, and gradually blend in 1 and 1/2 T lemon juice and 1/2 cup mayonnaise. Add 1/2 teaspoon salt. [Set aside]

[In another bowl] Whip 1/2 cup heavy cream.

Blend gently the cream cheese mixture with the cooled gelatin mixture, then fold the whipped cream into it. Fold diced peaches into this. Pour into four individual moulds and chill until firm. Turn out onto salad plates lined with crisp lettuce leaves. Garnish with maraschino cherries and the reserved peach slices.

I like to do this in little individual moulds, rather than the square glass dish my mother used. She always then cut it into squares. Probably that is just what she had to work with. Either way, it is pretty and tastes divine.

Ellen

