“I want you to know that I sat down after I wrote you and read this book all afternoon and finished the part about your mother. I even glanced through all of the delicious recipes. Now I want to know, are you going to invite me over for one of Geneva’s meals???

And what is my reaction to the book?

I cried. I laughed. I even said a few, “Amens!” I absolutely loved taking this journey with you back through time. Is there anything like a Southern childhood? I think not! You have done a marvelous job of capturing that essence and of introducing us to a true Steel Magnolia. Even though I have never had the pleasure of meeting Geneva in the flesh, I am so happy that I am now aquainted with her. And I share her love of tomato aspic which makes me think of my mother, aunt, and grandmother! Know that you have done your mother proud, Ellen. Very proud. Stand up and take a well deserved bow. I hope you hear me clapping from here!

Love to you, my friend…

XO,

Sheila”

